African Artistry

“the Earth without “Art” is just “Eh.”- Unknown

I want to illustrate a picture with words on the beauty of the African Artistry. During our trip we went to a restaurant called Mama Africa, in Cape Town, South Africa. It was a wonderful place with live music, amazing food, and handicrafts. Here is a sample of what our ears and dancing bodies experienced.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGRmGjyGu9c&list=UUwnq0Ywr0AjMVFmM21wHuJA

And people close to me know that jewelry is a weakness of mine, and at Mama Africa I purchased two earrings. One was made from recycled pots and pans, and the other was made from wood with African tribal designs in red and yellow paint with detailed gold motifs.

IMG_7356

I highly recommend if any of you make a trip to Cape Town to go and dine at Mama Africa. If you are interested in learning more about the restaurant I am attaching a link for your convenience.

http://www.mamaafricarestaurant.co.za/

DSCN5145

Painting on the walls of Mama Africa

During our stay in Cape Town, we went to the Green Market Square where local artists sold different forms of art. Conveniently, this market was on GREENMARKET Square! Here I used my bargaining skills and purchased paintings and jewelry of course!

IMG_2493 IMG_2492

IMG_2494IMG_2505

The painting I purchased at the Green Market Square, I framed it and hung it above my bed in Berkeley, California. Also, in Mozambique there was a piece I found that was made of candle wax. These two paintings are seen in this picture of my room.

IMG_7349

In Cape Town, we ventured to an area called V&A Waterfront Craft Market and Wellness Centre. It was a bazaar full of handicrafts.

http://www.waterfront.co.za/Shop/marketsIMG_2456 IMG_2451 IMG_2450IMG_2483

I enjoy learning and buying jewelry that has a story and that speaks the craft of the artist. The next few pictures I will show are my collection of earrings, necklaces, and bangles from Africa.

IMG_4306

The blue beaded bracelet I purchased from Cape Town, South Africa. Our project leader Jax always had one on, and I knew I wanted one for myself!

IMG_7359

These earrings are painted on sea shells. The tribal paint work is what drew me in, and I had to have these! These were made by a tribe in South Africa.

IMG_7333

The 4 headed ladies with detail paint and scarves is carved on a tree from Swaziland. Wood carving is a speciality of this country. The two thin green bangles hanging on the left are made of the stone malachite. On the right, the bangle hanging is made up of two metals, copper and silver, this piece was made in Congo. On the bottom left, the bangle with the two tone colors of black and brown is made on a coconut shell. The center two bangles, in orange with the elephants and the brown with the white details are made of cow bone. The last piece on the bottom right, I purchased from an Art Gallery in Blyde River Canyon, South Africa. It is made of cow bone with etched in designs and colors of red and black.

IMG_7334

These malachite bracelets, I wear to accent with a lot of my outfits.

IMG_7335

IMG_7343

My United Against Malaria bracelet is a purchase I made to donate to the fight against Malaria in South Africa. As quoted by the organization “Malaria is preventable and treatable, but the disease still kills a child in Africa every 60 seconds.” The bracelet is handmade in South Africa. The funds help to provide life-saving mosquito nets and treatments in Africa. Also, my purchase provides wages for the men and women who made the bracelet and their lives are being impacted by HIV/AIDS. If you would like to purchase or donate to this beautiful cause, go to http://www.UnitedAgainstMalaria.org

IMG_7345

This is another purchase made by my dearest friend Anya and was gifted to me. The proceeds go to save and to protect the Rhinoceros in South Africa.

The next few pictures were taken in Swaziland. I remember it being full of vibrant colors and amazing artwork.

IMG_3662

Bowls hand painted using vegetable coloring. I bought a couple of bowls for myself and my mom.

IMG_3674

I purchased a piece of cloth for the Reed Festival in Swaziland. I have placed this beautiful colorful cloth as a statement piece over my couch in the living room.

IMG_7341

These three necklaces I bought from a local artist of Swaziland. They utilized different cores of vegetables and fruits and added gold plastic beads and stones to their craft. I love to wear all the three pieces together.

IMG_7340

In South Africa, we were fortunate to experience the tribal lifestyle by visiting the Lesedi Cultural Village. I highly, recommend everyone to add this to their to do list when you visit South Africa!

http://www.gauteng.net/attractions/entry/lesedi_cultural_village/

IMG_3460

Lesedi Cultural Village

IMG_3461

Beautiful handmade jewelry

IMG_3475

Artwork sold at the Lesedi Cultural Village

IMG_3473

Artist #1- Loved her smile

IMG_3470

Artist #2

IMG_3469

Love everything about this picture.

IMG_3467

Thinking about her next project

IMG_3462IMG_3476IMG_3477

Leave a comment